Tags

,

muffinsI haven’t posted for a little while. Beings that I haven’t been feeling well, it is hit and miss sometimes with cooking and I frankly, am not always that hungry, so what I’ve been preparing hasn’t really been post worthy. And sometimes I’ve just been too tired. But was feeling well enough today to make these muffins. And they are SO tasty, I had to post. Here’s the link to the recipe: http://wholelifestylenutrition.com/recipes/appetizers-snacks/the-easiest-gluten-free-and-grain-free-muffin-recipe-ever/

[As an aside, I also made this the other day (halved the recipe) and made it as muffins instead of loaves. http://www.skinnytaste.com/2014/10/gluten-free-lightened-up-banana-nut.html%5D

So for the muffins I made today (first link), I adapted it by adding one package of gluten free instant maple raisin flax oatmeal, about 1/2 cup of minced walnuts and some cinnamon and allspice. I also used unsalted peanut butter (Trader Joes). Now, I think you could really add a lot of different things to this (or the other recipe) to change it up. For instance, diced apples, shredded carrots, blueberries. And you could add other spices like ginger or nutmeg.

I just stirred all the ingredients together with a wooden spoon (didn’t try to mix with hand blender or mixer) and broke the sliced bananas up into pieces….so they are a little chunky in the muffin, but I like it that way. It made six nice size muffins (the skinnytaste recipe made 12) and I look forward to having them for breakfast.

It was quick and easy to make….so get your oven preheating and make some. It will be a good, healthy way to start your days this week.

