Tags

, , , , , ,

Amid the Saturday cooking blitz, I have been hydrating and cooling off with a lovely iced tea. Someone at work brought some Steven Smith Teas into our common kitchen/conference room area. I know this local teamaker is known for very high quality teas, but I had never indulged. One of the ones at work is the Jasmine Silver Tip green tea. I know green tea is really good for you, but I don’t like the taste that well of just plain green tea. Well, I thought I’d give the Jasmine Silver Tip a try the other day and oh wow, so good. Not only is the fragrance heady, but the taste is addictive. So, I thought I’d look for some when I went to Fred Meyer this morning. Alas, of the three types they had on the shelf, the Jasmine was not one of them. However, there was another Smith Tea called “Fez,” which is a green tea with spearmint and lemon verbena. Well, that peaked my interest as I love mint and lemon tea. At $11 a box…not cheap….but I threw it into the cart anyway. And I’m so glad I did….wonderful, amazing, lovely tea. 

It was the perfect thing to quench my thirst as I whipped up this batch of Blueberry Donut Muffins. http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/blueberry-doughnut-muffins/

muffins2

I used some of the frozen blueberries stockpiled in the freezer. I also used a Splenda/sugar blend and instead of plain milk I used the rest of the heavy cream I had in the fridge (from the scones recipe the other day). Well, I haven’t tasted one yet, but the dough was good, and they came out of the oven smelling good and looking tempting. Will take a few to Wendell tomorrow, but may have to share some with my and T’s co-workers next week. 

Ok, now I think it is time to go make some more tea!

 

 

