Tags

, ,

There’s a new cafe at work. With one of the buildings on campus sold, there has been consolidation into just two buildings and along with it, a new commons area with a coffee bar and a new cafe called Trellis. It is all bright and inviting and the food is very healthy, because we are a health care company, after all. 

I tend to make my lunch, so I don’t eat over there all that much, but when I do I’ve found it to be good. So last week, I grabbed some soup….a fish stew and yum, it was so good. So I thought at the time I would make some this weekend. And, indeed, that has been my task this afternoon. 

fish stewWe ran to Fred Meyer this morning and I based the soup on what was in the fish counter. I got 1/2 pound of fresh rock cod, 1/2 pound of peeled and deveined medium-size shrimp and 1/4 pound of bay scallops. I don’t mind saying that I LOVE the scallop. We went to Toro Bravo for dinner last night and Ellen got the seared sea scallops and she let me have one. Oh it was divine! 

Here’s the Italian Fish Stew recipe that I followed. http://myktchnmagazine.blogspot.com/2014/02/italian-fish-stew.html

I used a 28oz can of Hunts crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes and tomato sauce the recipe suggests. I also think I added about 1/2 cup of white wine. And of course, since I am eating low sodium (or trying to), I didn’t add any additional salt. I did add a tablespoon of white sugar (I think it cuts the acidity of the tomatoes a little) and a couple of dashes of red pepper flakes. 

It goes together really quickly, because you don’t have to cook the fish overly long, or it will get tough and rubbery. So, didn’t heat up the kitchen too much and I’ll look forward to lunch this week. 

