Tags

, , , ,

I admire people who abstain from eating meat — as long as they don’t get militant about it. I think you can have a flavorful and healthy diet without eating beef, pork, chicken, etc. And I myself even enjoy days without eating meat. But, it is difficult for me to imagine never going without it; especially pork.

Who knows what the magical element is that makes pork so wonderful, but it just is. So, when I got my September issue of Cooking Light magazine and saw the recipe for Baja Pork Stir Fry, I just knew I had to indulge.

And I was not disappointed. Full of color with sweet orange and yellow peppers, one finely diced green serrano pepper, red onion, red halved grape tomatoes and green cilantro, the appearance alone was enticing. I’ll give you the recipe as I adjusted it below, and you can adjust to your taste if you try it…which you should…it is quick and filling and pork-a-licious! [Here’s the link to the recipe on Cookinglight.com: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/baja-pork-stir-fry-50400000115212/]

Baja Pork Stir Fry

Ingredients [I chopped everything up ahead of time so I could easily add.]
1/4 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin [I used Weber “Kick’n Chicken” seasoning and a couple shakes of Adobo]
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 (1-pound) pork tenderloin, cut into 1-inch pieces [Market did not have pork tenderloin so I got two (.77 lb) lean, boneless pork chops and cut them up.]
2 tablespoons olive or canola oil [I used olive]
1/2 red onion, cut into wedges
1/2 cup each julienne-cut yellow, green and red bell pepper
1/2 jalapeño pepper, minced [I used one serrano pepper]
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves

Instructions
1. Combine first 4 ingredients and set aside.
2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the canola or olive oil. Add pork and onions and seasonings and cook for five to 10 min, stirring occasionally.
3. Add the bell peppers and jalapeño; stir-fry for 1 minute.
4. Stir in broth mixture and bring to a boil.
5. Remove from heat, and stir in tomatoes. Sprinkle with cilantro.

The photo in the magazine showed it served over rice, but I ate it without the rice. Nummers!

