Tags

, ,

Food has got to have flavor. I mean, you know you’ve tasted some food that, yeah, it’s fuel and will keep you going, but talk about bland. And some people like food like that…the less spice or herb the better….plain.

I’m not a fan of the plain.

Maybe that’s why I like Thai food so much. Not too plain. Of course, I don’t like any food so spicy hot either that you can no longer taste anything but a horrible burning sensation. That’s no good either.

Just a little heat, a little sizzle, a little zip…that’s what I need to make it worth chewing.

Seems like there are as many Thai food restaurants across Portland metro area as there are coffee shops. I’ve tried a few, but given that Terry is not a fan of the Thai meal, it’s not often our collective choice. But, scanning the aisles at Trader Joe’s the other day (have I mentioned how much I LOVE TJs?) for my favorite Thai Red Curry Tuna (which they were out of) I spied a bottle of Thai Red Curry Sauce. Ok, I thought, I’ll grab that and whip up something with it.

And, yum, the sauce is so good — it’s got FLAVOR without being too spicy/hot. Here’s what I made:

Thai Red Curry Chicken

Ingredients
3 green onions, thinly sliced
2 tsp brown sugar
12 oz boneless, skinless chicken breast, raw, cut into long strips (chicken tenders work too, chopped into bite size pieces)
1/2 bottle (approx. 5.5 oz) Trader Joe’s Thai Red Curry Sauce
1-1/2 cups fat-free, low sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup mushrooms
2 TBSP cilantro (fresh or freeze-dried or Dorot cubes)
Salt, Adobo seasoning, garlic powder and crushed red pepper flakes, to taste.

Instructions
Heat the curry sauce in a saucepan and add the green onions and mushrooms; cook, stirring frequently, until heated through, about 3 minutes. Stir in the broth and bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. Reduce the heat to a simmer. Add the brown sugar and seasonings to taste; cook stirring occasionally, 2 minutes.

Add the chicken and cilantro to the curry sauce, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for approximately 10 minutes or until the chicken is thoroughly cooked. Ladle the curry evenly into deep bowls and serve with rice. Serves approximately 3 to 4.

