Tags

,

Last week at work I bought the half salad special from the Rivers Edge Cafe in the main lobby of my building. It was called the “Strawberry Dream Salad with Sweet Chili Dressing,” and was it ever good! So, I decided to try and recreate it at home and I think I’ve got it.

It’s a nice evening out, so I sat on the porch with Terry and noshed while he enjoyed a cigar and Emma submitted to belly rubs from the neighbor boy. A perfect Oregon summer evening!

Strawberry Dream Salad (One large serving or two side salads)
2-3 cups of lettuce (I used iceburg, but field greens would be good too.)
1/4 cup thinly sliced and roughly chopped  red onion
1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese (I used the Alouette brand)
4 large strawberries, hulled and sliced
2 TBSP  candied nuts (I used “sweet & crunchy” pecans & almonds that I found by the powdered “make-it-yourself” salad dressings at Safeway)

Sweet Chili Salad Dressing (Makes approx. five servings)
8 TBSP sweet chili sauce  (Find it in the Asian food section of the market. Trader Joe’s also carries their brand. Or buy from Asian specialty store. Be sure to get “sweet” chili sauce and not the siracha hot chili sauce…two very different items)
4 TBSP Olive Oil
1 TBSP + 1 Tsp Red Wine Vinegar
1/4 Tsp Splenda or Sugar (I used Splenda)
Pour all ingredients into a recloseable container. Shake to mix well.
Refrigerate to keep.

