Tags

I’m pretty sure I already mentioned that pasta is one of my favorite foods. You know when people sometimes are asked, what would you want your last meal to be? Well, I’d take macaroni and cheese. I could pretty much eat that all the time, I think.

But, I know that a steady diet of pasta (especially when it’s not even the whole grain type), is not kind to my waistline. So, I moderate.

Thanks to this great blog at http://www.skinnytaste.com, when I do feel like eating pasta she’s got some great recipes there. So, Friday night, I whipped up the “Easiest Pasta and Broccoli” recipe [http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/07/easiest-pasta-and-broccoli-recipe.html]

And, it was as good as it looked in the photo on her site, and below is how mine turned out. I don’t know that I used quite as much broccoli as the recipe called for as I just used the remainder of a half of a bag I had in the freezer. Since it was frozen, not fresh, I added it at the halfway point of the pasta cooking [in my beloved “Pasta ‘n More” microwave pasta cooker, which I pulled a photo off the web and posted here]. 

I also just used what pasta I had on hand, which were some small salad macaroni and some even smaller stars, so I cooked it a little less time than usual. And then I had a bag of fresh 2% 4-cheese shredded Italian cheese, so I used that for the cheese.

And, it turned out “yum!” Leftovers will be lunch tomorrow.

